School Logo

Waunfawr Primary School

Unlocking Excellence
Yn Agor Rhagoriaeth

Get in touch

Foundation Phase Curriculum

In Wales children follow the Foundation Phase curriculum from 3-7 years.  The Foundation Phase philosophy is to focus on the needs of individual children and work at their stage of development.  This means building on what children can already do and planning the next steps in their learning to allow them to develop their knowledge and skills. 


Children learn through first-hand experiential activities. Through their play, children practise and consolidate their learning, play with ideas, experiment, take risks, solve problems, and make decisions individually, in small and in large groups. First-hand experiences allow children to develop an understanding of themselves and the world in which they live. The development of children’s self-image and feelings of self-worth and self-esteem are at the core of this phase.


Indoor and outdoor environments that are fun, exciting, stimulating and safe promote children’s development and natural curiosity to explore and learn through first-hand experiences. The Foundation Phase environment should promote discovery and independence and a greater emphasis on using the outdoor environment as a resource for children’s learning

 The Foundation Phase curriculum is split into seven areas of learning.  Teachers will plan themes or topics for a half term which will incorporate all seven areas of learning.   
These areas of learning are:
Personal and Social Development, Well-being and Cultural Diversity
     Language, Literacy and Communication        
Mathematical Development
Welsh Language Development
Knowledge and Understanding of the World
Physical Development
Creative Development